Women have participated in the Volvo Ocean Race since its beginnings in 1973 and on International Women’s Day we will be celebrating the achievements and successes of both previous and current female sailors. Our International Women’s Day event ‘Celebrating Women in the Volvo Ocean race – Past, Present and Future’ will be taking place in the Volvo Ocean Race Village, Auckland this Thursday March 8th 1800 (0500 UTC).

We will be looking at the progress that has been made and exploring the opportunities that can be taken by everyone across sailing, male and female, to make sailing a fully equal sport. Sailing, and particularly performance sailing, is still not currently gender equal and it’s time to change.

With a capacity audience of up to 200 people we have a fantastic line up of presenters and speakers. Our panel of past, present and future racers include:

  • Tracy Edwards, crew member of Norsk Data GB/Atlantic Privateer in 1985-86 and skipper of Maiden in the Whitbread Round the World Race 1989-90 (via video)
  • Leah Fanstone, crew member of US Challenge/Heineken in 1993-94 and EF Education in 1997-98
  • Lisa McDonald, crew member of EF Education in 1997-98 and skipper of Amer Sports Too in 2001-02
  • Carolijn Brouwer, crew member of Dongfeng Race Team in the current Volvo Ocean Race and Team SCA in 2014-15
  • Hannah Diamond, crew member of Vestas 11th Hour Racing in the current Volvo Ocean Race and first-time race participant

Guest speakers:

  • Richard Brisius – President of the Volvo Ocean Race
  • Elise Beavis – Performance Engineer at Emirates Team New Zealand.

Other past and present Volvo Ocean Race team members will also be present including Libby Greenhalgh, navigator on Team Sun Hung Kai Scallywag and Sally Barkow, crew member on Team Brunel. The evening will be co-hosted by Volvo Ocean Race presenter Jo Pickard and Abby Ehler, Member of Team Brunel/Magenta Project Founder.

If you cannot make the event in person a recording of the event highlights and full presentations will be made available afterwards.

Our thanks go to Volvo Ocean Race and GAC Pindar for their support with the event.

Share This